Closing The Gap Agreement 2008

In December 2007, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) committed to addressing important gaps, and in March 2008, government and non-government delegates signed a Memorandum of Understanding for a National Indigenous Health Equality Summit. In the Prime Minister`s preface to the closing of the 2019 report, Prime Minister Scott Morrison said that while some improvements have been made, including a larger retention until Grade 12, successive governments have reported that the targets have not been met. After the start of the Closing the Gap “upgrading” process two years earlier (after four of the targets expired in 2018), this would be the final report of the framework defined in 2008. In December 2018, a coalition of Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander met with Morrison, and soon after, COAG premiers agreed on another form of partnership with Indigenous organizations, which resulted in greater cooperation. In the future, there would be a transition to another phase of gap reduction, which involves a whole governmental approach, “all governments sharing responsibility for progress and extending this shared responsibility to Aborigines and the Torres Strait Islands”. [8] In November 2008, CoAG pledged $4.6 billion to fill this gap; funds were allocated to projects in the areas of health, housing, early childhood, economic participation, and remote services [17301][15364]. There is no way to support the agreement yet. The announcement was generally well received. Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs Linda Burney welcomed the goals and participation of Indigenous representatives, but hoped to work on more federal funding and also a domestic violence goal. [9] Prime Minister Kevin Rudd announced the creation of the National Indigenous Health Equality Council (NIHEC) at the National Indigenous Health Equality Summit in 2008. The report said the gap closure framework is an Australian government strategy to reduce discrimination against Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islands, based on seven targets. From its adoption in 2008, after meeting with the Close the Gap social justice campaign, until 2018, federal, state and territorial governments worked on the framework through the Council of Australian Governments (COAG), with the Prime Minister`s Department and cabinet having produced a report at the end of each year analysing progress towards each of its seven goals. .

. .


Comments are closed.

Teisha Rowland, PhD, is the author of this blog.


  • No categories